Lindsay Park was established as a community under the Federation of Calgary Communities in 2008 but has a rich history in Calgary.
The community is named after Dr. Neville Lindsay, who owned ranchland currently containing the Lindsay Park Community. Dr. Lindsay practiced medicine in Watford, Ontario for eight years before coming to Calgary where he continued his medical practice. Dr. Lindsay came to Calgary in 1883 on the first CP Rail passenger train that carried mostly freight and construction materials, which has been described as the western equivalent of “The Mayflower”.
Lindsay served on Calgary’s first town council as a councillor from 1884 to 1886, when Calgary’s population was only about 1,000, and as an alderman from 1897 to 1898. In 1886, Lindsay was appointed government physician for the Blackfoot, Stoney and Sarcee reservations. In the years following, he became a close friend of Father Albert Lacombe. He also served as physician to R.C.M.P. and C.P.R. employees.
In 1898, Lindsay visited the Yukon and made a significant amount of money with gold and copper. He returned to Calgary and traded in real estate, at one time owning what is now the district of Parkhill.
Lindsay married Florence May Hungerford in 1879 at Watford, Ontario, and they had four children. Neville Lindsay died in 1925.
The Erlton/Stampede C-Train Station is on the east side of MacLeod Trail at 25th Avenue SW and links the community residents with LRT lines around the City.
Several city buses travel down 25th Avenue and 4th Street. For route information, contact Calgary Transit.
Most of Lindsay Park has parking restrictions and residential parking permits are required for both resident and their guest. For information on residential parking permit, contact the Calgary Parking Authority.